#Let’s Help#- The Earthquake Tragedy in Nepal 2015

nepal1_1

4000+. That’s the current number of deaths from the 7.9 scale earthquake that tragically hit Nepal this past week.

I was watching the news and reading articles about the situation in Nepal, but I’m still in shock and disbelief. The mass destruction of Kathmandu, the thousands killed instantly, those still buried alive under the rubble and the millions turned homeless over night. I cannot even imagine what it’s like to be in their shoes- to lose one’s entire life, family, friends, homes, livelihood, everything, in the span of hours. It’s absolutely heartbreaking.

While listening to the news, I was having a hard time identifying with this tragedy and then I saw this photograph. This photograph above really brought this tragedy home to me. Two men were found underneath the rubble after an 18 hour search-one thankfully alive and conscious, but his friend killed instantly and lying beside him dead. That photograph made my heart constrict and left me breathless. Just imagine, one minute you’re talking with your friend, hanging out like any other day, and the next minute, he’s lying dead beside you and you’re fighting to stay alive beneath a thousand pounds of rock and rubble, praying that you will be rescued. That’s absolutely terrifying-and sadly, it’s a reality for thousands in Nepal.

While I am only beginning to understand the magnitude of this tragedy, I am so heartened and proud by the world’s response to help Nepal. Countries all over the world are sending money, supplies, planes, volunteers, medicine, doctors, engineers-anything, everything and everyone willing to offer assistance wherever needed. Seeing all this cooperation really motivates me to do my part as well. We need to help, there is just no other way around it, we need to step up and offer assistance, supplies, food, aid, prayer, compassion, anything and everything to help out.

I’m ready to do what I can, how about you?

Below is a list of charities that are actively collecting and giving out donations and supplies on the ground to the people of Nepal. If you would like to help out, feel free to call up your local or national branch of these organizations-every little bit, no matter how big or small, will make a world of difference. I guarantee it.

-Red Cross

– OxFam

-Save the Children

– UNICEF

-Plan Canada

– CARE Canada

– Care.org

Thank you for your love, generousity and support.

LoveUntitled @_@

* NOTE: Some of the photographs below are quite graphic, but I wanted to share them because this is Nepal’s reality and it’s the only way we can understand and feel for them. And in this way, we can help.*

26earthquake_hp_ss-slide-4f69-superjumbo

slide_420962_5384470_sq50

earthquake3

150425203057-nepal-injured-large-169 Nepal-2 Kathmandu Struck By Powerful Earthquake

Leave a comment